Your browser does not support JavaScript!

Login
   
background image background image background image
fulls
logo Kea-Tzia
AEGEAN ISLANDS

Korissia

The safe natural port of the island, also called Livadi, has interesting sights. Many of its houses are built according to the Cycladic architecture and among them Agia Triada stands out. From ancient Korissia (or Korissos) section of the old wall and the acropolis are preserved, at the hill of Agios Savvas, above the port, as well as a section of a temple in Agia Triada, probably dedicated to Apollo Smintheas. In excavations that took place in the area, relics of an ancient cemetery were discovered as well as the renowned Kouros of Kea (530 BC) exhibited at the National Archaeological Museum of Athens. At the Iroon square (Heroes square) of Korissia and next to the column of eminent Kea people a canon is located which was considered to be in the frigate of Lambros Katsonis. From the dock you can see the chimney of the old factory of enamelled utensils, 45 meters high. It operated from 1927 to 1957 on the island and it was the only one of the kind in Greece. Initially, it produced utensils and inscriptions. Later on it was an army supplier for helmets, canteens and mortars. It constitutes a typical sample of industrial architecture of Interwar and it has been declared as preservable. Machines that have been preserved by the Friends of Enamel Factory are now exhibited at the municipal site located near the old factory. Info At the port there are hotels, malls, restaurants, cafés, hotels, confectioneries, bakeries, super markets etc.   
map add mapadd

Otzias

The picturesque bay with the tamarix and the eucalyptus trees is of unique natural beauty. It has traditional houses and the country chapel of Agios Sozontas, built in 1910, is rooted on the rocks which are densely planted with prickly pears.  
map add mapadd

Kato Meria

It is a sparsely populated rural settlement, around which there are many churches. In the church of Agioi Apostoloi of the 12th century, the Holy Altar is based on a portion of an ancient column. In the antiquity this place must have been a nodal point in the route from Ioulis to Karthaia (east) and Poiiessa (west).
map add mapadd

Kalamos

In Kalamos, east of Otzias, there are old red ochre (miltos) mines. Based on the findings it is estimated that port facilities from the classical period were used for its transfer. Passing by Otzias and going uphill on the east towards the monastery of Kastriani, you can stop at the hill and enjoy the view of the deep northern windless bay.
map add mapadd
Calendar
March  2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31
<< >>
My Aegean
EU
Co-financed by Greece and the European Union - European Regional Development Fund
ESPA